Energy: Nonofo Kgasa

When I was growing up, particularly in the mid 90s, while my parents thought otherwise, I used to enjoy songs such as Tracy Chapman’s ‘Baby Can I Hold You’ blasting out from our neighbour’s son radio, often on Sundays. His name was Nonofo Kgasa, affectionately known as Energy: son of Botlhalalane and Kelemogile.

I vividly remember Botlhalalane. Botlhalalane was cousins with Leselekwane, my grandfather. We are told their grandfather was Seohela, son of Kgasa. One of their cousins, Buang, used to make a casual reference when I greeted him: “a o motho wa ga Seohela”.

Some Wednesday nights, my father would insist on switching off the radiogram. Angry, I would pretend to go to sleep, and would sneak outside in the dark to the matlhakwana and sit closer to the hedges separating the two homes and find comfort from Radio Mmabatho’s eloquent football commentary by Cebo Manyapelo, played by Energy. Like Energy, I was an avid fan of Kaizer Chiefs and Kanye Swallows.

Despite Energy being about 15 years older, often, we would hold a brief conversation everytime we met about when Kaizer Chiefs play again.

Those who knew him well said Energy was a great goalkeeper. One of my greatest memories when I was at primary was when I played as a goalkeeper for my class.

Even though I never thanked Energy for playing the beautiful songs and the live matches, I do miss Energy.

Thank you Energy!

Author:

Botswana Born and Raised. Alive. Lively. Living. Life.

Leave a comment